Skip to content

It’s Hard to be Simple

February 16, 2011

When the same message reaches me twice within 24 hours, I am inclined to slow down for a minute and think about it.  This time it is one I have been advocating for years: keep it simple.  I know how important it is to deliver a simple message, but I also know how hard it is, and I certainly don’t always live by my own advice.

Last night, at my local Toastmasters Club, one of the speakers entreated us all to live, exercise, invest and eat more simply.  This morning, a wise colleague, whose business is to help her customers win more business, asked me ‘Can you explain your service in one sentence?’  So I thought about it and the answer is that I can. I won’t always do it in the same sentence, but here is today’s:

Freshword helps senior managers to bridge the gap

between the writing quality they expect and what they get.

So, thank you to Margaret Adams for reminding me to practise what I preach.

Warning: Never be duped into thinking that keeping it simple is a simple job.  You can be sure that the shortest instruction manuals, the simplest logos and the most succinct reports have been created by the cleverest people  – and it took them a lot of time and effort.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 18:26

    Thanks Jane for endorsing the simple approach.

    I find that once a customer can describe what his or her business does in a single sentence – and you’re right, it doesn’t have to be the same sentence all the time – this is a huge step forward.

    It really does help businesses to focus on the impact they create, rather than talking about the features of their product or service, if they’re constrained to use just one sentence.

    MA

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention It’s Hard to be Simple « the freshword blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

