Skip to content

The UK is grown-up now.

December 6, 2011

Mary Dejevsky GrowthI have stopped buying things except to replace worn-out or used-up ones. I am grown-up and have all that I need. Instinctively, this seems to me to apply to the UK economy, but I know so little about economics that I assumed there was some obscure reason why it could never grow up.

It is for this reason that I say ‘well done’ to Mary Dejevsky who questions the need for growth using facts and credible arguments.

I recommend that you read ‘Why this Obsession with Growth?‘ for two reasons. I find it well structured and clearly written so it qualifies on the ‘read good stuff’ criterion. It is interesting too because it expresses a point of view that runs counter to the one that is normally taken for granted.

Let me know what you think.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon Page permalink
    December 8, 2011 10:34

    I agree Jane, it’s interesting to have a counter argument to growth. In the physiological world a doctor would say to an adult, ‘too much growth can make you fat and damage your health’. I speculate if we don’t want to appear disproportionately heavy and out of balance in this time of globalisation, we best leave the growing to the young.

    • December 9, 2011 10:21

      Nice to hear from you Simon. I used to be the most unpolitical animal in the world but some of the goings-on recently get even the likes of me going. When the going gets unbelievable even the lethargic get going… or something! All the best
      Jane

Leave a Reply

